Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Kim Ross, M.D.

Dermatology · San Antonio, TX
Practice pattern: Mixed Practice — Diverse clinical practice across multiple procedure types
2611 N MAIN AVE, San Antonio, TX 78212
2102252769
Registered in NPPES since 2005
NPI: 1184600165 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Ross from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Ross? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Ross

Dr. Kim Ross is a dermatology specialist in San Antonio, TX, with 20 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Ross performed 67,700 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Ross received a total of $46,530 from 49 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 533 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Ross is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 20 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 0% volume in TX $46,530 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
67,700
Medicare services
Top 0% in TX for dermatology
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$22
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Photodynamic therapy gel for precancerous skin 42,600 $1 $3
Allergy skin test
A diagnostic test performed to identify specific allergies by applying or introducing allergenic extracts to the body. The procedure measures the patient's immune response to various potential allergens.
4,032 $3 $7
Destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of two to fourteen precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to eliminate abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
3,196 $5 $13
Ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to help position radiation therapy fields accurately during treatment.
2,324 $139 $326
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
2,248 $209 $512
Superficial or low voltage radiation treatment
A radiation therapy procedure that delivers radiation to the surface of the body or uses low voltage energy. This treatment targets areas close to the skin.
2,183 $31 $78
Allergy immunotherapy preparation
A professional service involving the preparation and administration of one or more antigens.
1,850 $12 $29
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
1,529 $63 $171
Allergy injection therapy, multiple injections
A professional service involving the administration of multiple allergen injections.
1,322 $8 $21
Allergy skin patch test
A diagnostic test where small amounts of potential allergens are applied to the skin to identify substances that cause an allergic reaction.
1,223 $4 $9
Destruction of precancerous skin growth, 1
Removal of a single precancerous skin growth. This procedure destroys abnormal skin cells to prevent them from developing into cancer.
683 $37 $126
Destruction of skin growths (warts/lesions), 1-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of one to fourteen skin growths. It is a minor surgical intervention performed on the skin surface.
453 $78 $213
Skin biopsy, tangential
A procedure to remove a sample of the first identified skin growth for laboratory examination.
442 $63 $192
New patient office visit (30-44 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 30 and 44 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter falls within this range.
442 $69 $210
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
393 $147 $361
Office visit, established patient (10-19 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting 10 to 19 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
362 $38 $105
Destruction of 15 or more precancerous skin growths
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of fifteen or more precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to treat abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
275 $123 $318
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
263 $66 $163
Steroid injection (triamcinolone)
A 10 mg injection of triamcinolone acetonide, a corticosteroid medication. This code specifies the drug and dosage administered.
238 $1 $4
Light application with debridement to destroy precancerous skin growth
This procedure involves applying light to the skin along with debridement to destroy precancerous skin growths.
208 $202 $533
Additional skin growth biopsy
Removal of a sample of an additional skin growth for laboratory examination. This code is used for each extra lesion biopsied during the same session.
197 $38 $96
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 170 $51 $124
Injection into skin growths, 1-7
A procedure involving the injection of medication into one to seven skin growths.
97 $33 $107
Destruction of skin growth, 15 or more growths 94 $87 $252
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
94 $30 $74
Simple radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the initial planning phase for radiation therapy treatment. It includes the setup and configuration required to prepare for delivering radiation to a specific area.
86 $56 $133
New patient office visit, 15-29 minutes
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting 15 to 29 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter meets this duration threshold.
79 $49 $134
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
75 $92 $241
Drug injection, under skin or into muscle
A procedure involving the administration of a medication or substance via injection into the subcutaneous tissue or muscle.
59 $10 $27
Shaving of skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm
A minor procedure to shave off a skin growth on the body, arms, or legs that measures between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters.
50 $79 $234
Design and construction of intermediate radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of an intermediate radiation treatment device. It does not specify a particular clinical purpose or condition.
36 $105 $306
Skin growth shaving, 0.5 cm or less
This procedure involves shaving off a small skin growth measuring 0.5 centimeters or less from the body, arms, or legs.
35 $47 $194
Punch biopsy of first skin growth
A small, circular piece of skin is removed from a skin growth using a circular blade. The sample is then sent to a laboratory for examination.
31 $88 $241
New patient office visit (45-59 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 45 and 59 minutes. This code covers the total time spent by the physician or qualified healthcare professional on the date of the encounter.
27 $102 $317
Ear tissue biopsy
A procedure to remove a small sample of tissue from the ear for laboratory examination.
26 $49 $182
Shaving of skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
This procedure involves shaving off a skin growth measuring between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters from the body, arms, or legs.
24 $89 $262
Shaving of small skin growth on face or mouth area
A minor procedure to shave off a small skin growth, measuring 0.5 cm or less, located on the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth.
22 $72 $222
Intermediate wound repair, 2.5 cm or less
This procedure involves stitching a wound on the scalp, underarms, trunk, arms, or legs that is 2.5 centimeters or smaller. It includes cleaning the wound and closing it with sutures to promote healing.
22 $198 $492
Punch biopsy of additional skin growth
A small circular tool is used to remove a sample of an extra skin growth for laboratory examination.
21 $46 $114
Destruction of cancer skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
Removal of a cancerous skin growth on the trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters.
21 $125 $338
Intermediate wound repair, 2.6-7.5 cm
A medical procedure to close a wound on the scalp, underarms, trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters. This type of repair involves cleaning the wound and stitching it closed to promote healing.
19 $206 $559
Complex radiation therapy planning 18 $128 $319
Radiation treatment planning, complex
This procedure involves obtaining the necessary data to develop an optimal radiation treatment plan for three or more treatment areas, or any number of areas requiring special treatment.
18 $333 $866
Simple drainage of skin abscess
A minor procedure to drain a localized collection of pus from the skin. The abscess is opened to allow the fluid to escape and promote healing.
17 $98 $239
Shaving of skin growth on face, 0.6-1.0 cm
This procedure involves shaving off a skin growth located on the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth. The size of the growth being removed is between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters.
17 $83 $266
Removal of noncancer skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
This procedure involves the surgical removal of a benign skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The growth measured between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters in diameter.
16 $67 $323
Destruction of cancerous skin growth, 2.1-3.0 cm
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin lesion measuring between 2.1 and 3.0 centimeters located on the trunk, arms, or legs.
15 $132 $368
Shaving of skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm
A minor procedure to shave off a skin growth measuring 0.6 to 1.0 cm from the scalp, neck, hands, feet, or genitals.
13 $85 $236
Intermediate radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the intermediate-level planning for radiation therapy treatment.
12 $79 $203
Radiation treatment planning, 2 areas
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for two distinct treatment areas.
12 $327 $837
Acne surgery
A surgical procedure to treat acne. The specific techniques and extent of the surgery are not defined in this general code description.
11 $74 $212
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$46,530
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $6,647/year across 7 years
Top 8% in TX for dermatology
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
49
Companies
533
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$10,811
2023
$12,505
2022
$3,061
2021
$2,085
2020
$931
2019
$2,981
2018
$14,156

Payments by company (2024)

Amgen Inc.
$8,085
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$729
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$342
Lilly USA, LLC
$284
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$242
Incyte Corporation
$197
PFIZER INC.
$163
UCB, Inc.
$125
Ortho Dermatologics, a division of Bausch Health US, LLC
$125
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$82
LEO Pharma Inc.
$70
ABBVIE INC.
$68
ALK-Abello, Inc
$65
Biofrontera Inc.
$64
GENZYME CORPORATION
$45
Dermavant Sciences, Inc.
$43
Sandoz Inc.
$20
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$17
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$16
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$14
Verrica Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$13
Top 3 companies account for 84.7% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Amgen Inc.
$17,867
PFIZER INC.
$7,484
Merz North America, Inc.
$3,932
Promius Pharma LLC
$3,903
Ortho Dermatologics, a division of Bausch Health US, LLC
$2,090
MERZ NORTH AMERICA, INC.
$1,167
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$1,101
Lilly USA, LLC
$898
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$897
Biofrontera Inc.
$748
EPI Health, LLC
$540
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$498
AbbVie Inc.
$433
Incyte Corporation
$416
UCB, Inc.
$397
ABBVIE INC.
$370
Allergan, Inc.
$328
Journey Medical Corporation
$310
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Inc.
$308
GENZYME CORPORATION
$303
AbbVie, Inc.
$299
Allergan Inc.
$277
LEO Pharma Inc.
$258
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$250
Arcutis Biotherapeutics, Inc.
$170
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$161
Almirall LLC
$140
Taro Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.
$138
Celgene Corporation
$122
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$117
Dermavant Sciences, Inc.
$65
ALK-Abello, Inc
$65
Genentech USA, Inc.
$58
Merck Sharp & Dohme Corporation
$50
Aclaris Therapeutics, Inc.
$47
Sebela Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$45
Mayne Pharma Inc.
$37
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$37
Nabriva Therapeutics, plc
$29
Tactile Systems Technology Inc
$28
Kaleo, Inc.
$23
Pierre Fabre Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$21
Sandoz Inc.
$20
DUSA Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$18
Medimetriks Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$15
Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$14
Verrica Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$13
Paratek Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$12
Encore Dermatology Inc.
$12
Top 3 companies account for 62.9% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
0.25% · ABSORICA · ABSORICA LD · ADBRY · AKLIEF · ALTRENO · AMELUZ · ARAZLO · Absorica LD · Aczone · Ameluz · Auvi-Q · BLU-U · BOTOX · BOTOX COSMETIC · BRYHALI · Bimzelx · CIBINQO · COSENTYX · Cabtreo · Cimzia · Clindacin ETZ · Cloderm Cream · DORYX · DUOBRII · DUPIXENT · DUPIXENT DUPILUMAB INJECTION · ENSTILAR · EPIDUO FORTE · EPSOLAY · ESKATA · EUCRISA · Enbrel · Erivedge · FLEXITOUCH · Grastek · HALOG (Halcinonide Cream · HALOG OINTMENT (Halcinonide Ointment · HUMIRA · Humira · ILUMYA · Impoyz · JUBLIA · LEVULAN KERASTICK · LILETTA · NAFTIN · NUZYRA · OLUMIANT · ONEXTON · OPZELURA · ORACEA · Olux · Otezla · PICATO · PRAMOSONE · REMICADE · RHOFADE · RINVOQ · Rituxan · SILIQ · SIVEXTRO · SKYRIZI · SOOLANTRA · SPEVIGO · Sernivo · Sernivo Spray · Seysara · Sitavig · Sivextro · Sotyktu · TALTZ · TOPICORT (desoximetasone) Topical Spray · TREMFYA · TargaDox · Trianex · UBRELVY · ULTRAVATE (halobetasol propionate) lotion · USP) 0.1% · VTAMA · Veltin · Winlevi · XEOMIN · Xeomin · YCANTH
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a dermatology specialist in San Antonio?
Compare dermatologists in the San Antonio area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse dermatologists nearby

Geographic Context

Dermatologists in nearby ZIP areas
109
County median income
$70,571
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
BAPTIST MEDICAL CENTER
2.8 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry ✓ NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment ✓ PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data ✓ Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments ✓ Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Ross is a mixed practice specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 0% in TX), with 20 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Ross experienced with photodynamic therapy gel for precancerous skin?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Ross performed 42,600 photodynamic therapy gel for precancerous skin services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Ross receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Ross received a total of $46,530 from 49 companies across 533 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Ross's costs compare to other dermatologists in San Antonio?
Dr. Ross's average Medicare payment per service is $22. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Ross) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →