Dr. Matthew Rowley, MD
What this data tells you about Dr. Rowley
Dr. Matthew Rowley is a dermatology specialist in Lufkin, TX, with 20 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Rowley performed 11,064 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.
Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Rowley received a total of $9,080 from 31 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 462 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.
The Data Coverage level for Dr. Rowley is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.
Medicare Practice Summary — 2023
Medicare Utilization ↗Top procedures by volume
Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.
| Procedure | Volume | Avg. paid | Avg. submitted |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement Use of ultrasound imaging to help position radiation therapy fields accurately during treatment. |
1,628 | $134 | $500 |
| Radiation treatment planning, 1 area This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area. |
1,453 | $200 | $1,600 |
| Superficial or low voltage radiation treatment A radiation therapy procedure that delivers radiation to the surface of the body or uses low voltage energy. This treatment targets areas close to the skin. |
1,401 | $31 | $625 |
| Destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14 This procedure involves the removal or destruction of two to fourteen precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to eliminate abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer. |
1,055 | $5 | $80 |
| Office visit, established patient (10-19 min) An office visit for an existing patient lasting 10 to 19 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition. |
960 | $38 | $150 |
| Office visit, established patient (20-29 min) An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition. |
871 | $59 | $180 |
| Destruction of precancerous skin growth, 1 Removal of a single precancerous skin growth. This procedure destroys abnormal skin cells to prevent them from developing into cancer. |
783 | $36 | $200 |
| Destruction of skin growths (warts/lesions), 1-14 This procedure involves the removal or destruction of one to fourteen skin growths. It is a minor surgical intervention performed on the skin surface. |
441 | $74 | $350 |
| Skin biopsy, tangential A procedure to remove a sample of the first identified skin growth for laboratory examination. |
342 | $62 | $258 |
| Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions. |
284 | $145 | $750 |
| New patient office visit, 15-29 minutes An initial office visit for a new patient lasting 15 to 29 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter meets this duration threshold. |
242 | $46 | $175 |
| Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment. |
219 | $64 | $725 |
| New patient office visit (30-44 min) An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 30 and 44 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter falls within this range. |
179 | $67 | $270 |
| Calculation of radiation therapy dose | 148 | $50 | $875 |
| Destruction of cancer skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin growth located on the trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters. |
101 | $89 | $384 |
| Additional skin growth biopsy Removal of a sample of an additional skin growth for laboratory examination. This code is used for each extra lesion biopsied during the same session. |
100 | $37 | $125 |
| Destruction of cancer skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm Removal of a cancerous skin growth on the trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters. |
60 | $118 | $425 |
| Destruction of cancerous skin growth on face, 0.6-1.0 cm This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin lesion located on the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth. The lesion treated measures between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters in diameter. |
56 | $126 | $438 |
| Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated. |
55 | $29 | $500 |
| Simple radiation therapy planning This procedure involves the initial planning phase for radiation therapy treatment. It includes the setup and configuration required to prepare for delivering radiation to a specific area. |
53 | $50 | $1,000 |
| Chemotherapy administration, 1-7 injections This procedure involves the administration of chemotherapy medication through one to seven separate injections. |
52 | $54 | $180 |
| Fluorouracil injection, 500 mg Administration of a 500 mg dose of fluorouracil medication via injection. |
47 | $0 | $1 |
| Simple drainage of skin abscess A minor procedure to drain a localized collection of pus from the skin. The abscess is opened to allow the fluid to escape and promote healing. |
44 | $78 | $420 |
| Light therapy to destroy precancerous skin growth This procedure uses light to treat and remove precancerous skin lesions. It is a method for destroying abnormal skin cells before they become cancerous. |
44 | $106 | $360 |
| Office visit for established patient An office visit for an existing patient that may not require the healthcare professional to be present. |
37 | $16 | $100 |
| Destruction of cancer skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin growth measuring 0.6 to 1.0 centimeters. It is performed on the scalp, neck, hands, feet, or genitals. |
36 | $101 | $397 |
| Topical aminolevulinic acid HCl 20% solution A topical medication applied to the skin for medical treatment. It is supplied as a single-unit dosage form containing 354 mg of the active ingredient. |
36 | $307 | $720 |
| Destruction of cancer skin growth on trunk, arms, or legs, 0.5 cm or less This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin growth located on the trunk, arms, or legs that is 0.5 centimeters or smaller in size. |
32 | $53 | $240 |
| Destruction of small cancerous skin growth on face or mouth This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin lesion measuring 0.5 centimeters or less located on the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth. |
32 | $85 | $360 |
| Intermediate wound repair, 2.6-7.5 cm A medical procedure to close a wound on the scalp, underarms, trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters. This type of repair involves cleaning the wound and stitching it closed to promote healing. |
29 | $225 | $780 |
| Punch biopsy of first skin growth A small, circular piece of skin is removed from a skin growth using a circular blade. The sample is then sent to a laboratory for examination. |
28 | $88 | $282 |
| Skin growth removal and lab exam, 1-5 blocks This procedure involves the removal of a growth from the head, neck, hands, feet, or genitals. The removed tissue is then examined under a microscope in the laboratory. |
28 | $477 | $1,680 |
| Design and construction of intermediate radiation treatment device This code covers the design and construction of an intermediate radiation treatment device. It does not specify a particular clinical purpose or condition. |
27 | $105 | $350 |
| Intermediate repair of wound of face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth, 2.6-5.0 cm | 23 | $226 | $732 |
| Surgical removal of skin cancer, 1.1-2.0 cm Surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth measuring between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters on the body, arms, or legs. |
17 | $113 | $624 |
| Destruction of small cancerous skin growth This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin lesion measuring 0.5 cm or less on the scalp, neck, hands, feet, or genitals. |
17 | $95 | $390 |
| Intermediate radiation therapy planning This procedure involves the intermediate-level planning for radiation therapy treatment. |
15 | $83 | $1,200 |
| Radiation treatment planning, 2 areas This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for two distinct treatment areas. |
15 | $334 | $2,200 |
| Skin cancer removal, face or mouth area, 0.6-1.0 cm Surgical removal of a cancerous skin growth from the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth. The procedure involves excising a lesion measuring between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters. |
14 | $91 | $600 |
| Skin tag removal, 1-15 tags This procedure involves the removal of one to fifteen skin tags. It is a minor surgical intervention to excise these benign growths from the skin. |
12 | $58 | $225 |
| Shaving of skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm A minor procedure to shave off a skin growth on the body, arms, or legs that measures between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters. |
12 | $75 | $330 |
| Removal of noncancer skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm This procedure involves the surgical removal of a benign skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The growth measured between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters in diameter. |
12 | $87 | $414 |
| Skin cancer growth removal, 0.6-1.0 cm This procedure involves the surgical removal of a cancerous skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The size of the growth being removed is between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters. |
12 | $124 | $576 |
| Destruction of cancerous skin growth on face, 1.1-2.0 cm This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin lesion located on the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth. The lesion treated measures between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters in diameter. |
12 | $127 | $510 |
Industry Payment Transparency
Open Payments through 2024 ↗Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.
Payment trend by year
Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.
Payments by company (2024)
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
Geographic Context
0.0 mi
Data Sources
| Provider Registry | ✓ NPPES | NPPES snapshot; verify current record |
| Medicare Enrollment | ✓ PECOS | PECOS snapshot |
| Practice Data | ✓ Medicare Util. | Annual (CY lag) |
| Industry Payments | ✓ Open Payments | CY 2024 |
| Disciplinary History | — Not included | N/A |
This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →
Summary
Dr. Rowley is a clinical cardiology specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 7% in TX), with 20 years of NPI registration.
This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Dr. Rowley experienced with ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement?
Does Dr. Rowley receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
How do Dr. Rowley's costs compare to other dermatologists in Lufkin?
What does Data Coverage mean?
Is this data up to date?
Explore related providers
This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.
This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.
Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology