Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Tejas Desai, D.O.

Dermatology · Houston, TX
Practice pattern: Mixed Practice — Diverse clinical practice across multiple procedure types
2120 ASHLAND ST, Houston, TX 77008
7138642659
Registered in NPPES since 2006
NPI: 1902981533 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Desai from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Desai? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Desai

Dr. Tejas Desai is a dermatology specialist in Houston, TX, with 19 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Desai performed 14,855 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Desai received a total of $7,824 from 33 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 395 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Desai is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 19 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 3% volume in TX $7,824 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
14,855
Medicare services
Top 3% in TX for dermatology
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$148
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to help position radiation therapy fields accurately during treatment.
2,548 $139 $263
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
2,390 $207 $394
Superficial or low voltage radiation treatment
A radiation therapy procedure that delivers radiation to the surface of the body or uses low voltage energy. This treatment targets areas close to the skin.
2,312 $31 $60
Allergy skin patch test
A diagnostic test where small amounts of potential allergens are applied to the skin to identify substances that cause an allergic reaction.
801 $4 $7
Destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of two to fourteen precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to eliminate abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
738 $5 $10
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
723 $65 $138
Innovamatrix AC, per square centimeter
Application of Innovamatrix AC material to the skin, measured by each square centimeter treated.
631 $808 $1,200
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
415 $86 $195
Topical aminolevulinic acid HCl 20% solution
A topical medication applied to the skin for medical treatment. It is supplied as a single-unit dosage form containing 354 mg of the active ingredient.
374 $304 $587
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
316 $150 $284
Destruction of precancerous skin growth, 1
Removal of a single precancerous skin growth. This procedure destroys abnormal skin cells to prevent them from developing into cancer.
301 $39 $103
Skin biopsy, tangential
A procedure to remove a sample of the first identified skin growth for laboratory examination.
290 $59 $157
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
249 $67 $126
Skin growth removal and lab exam, 1-5 blocks
This procedure involves the removal of a growth from the head, neck, hands, feet, or genitals. The removed tissue is then examined under a microscope in the laboratory.
234 $459 $1,054
Light therapy to destroy precancerous skin growth
A qualified healthcare professional applies light to the skin to destroy precancerous growths.
226 $174 $344
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 165 $52 $98
Destruction of skin growths (warts/lesions), 1-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of one to fourteen skin growths. It is a minor surgical intervention performed on the skin surface.
136 $74 $175
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
133 $30 $57
New patient office visit (30-44 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 30 and 44 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter falls within this range.
116 $71 $172
Shaving of skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm
A minor procedure to shave off a skin growth on the body, arms, or legs that measures between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters.
110 $74 $188
Destruction of 15 or more precancerous skin growths
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of fifteen or more precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to treat abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
100 $131 $262
Shaving of skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
This procedure involves shaving off a skin growth measuring between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters from the body, arms, or legs.
97 $92 $212
Simple radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the initial planning phase for radiation therapy treatment. It includes the setup and configuration required to prepare for delivering radiation to a specific area.
96 $56 $105
Additional skin growth biopsy
Removal of a sample of an additional skin growth for laboratory examination. This code is used for each extra lesion biopsied during the same session.
84 $41 $78
Removal and microscopic exam of growth of head, neck, hands, feet, or genitals, each additional stage, 1-5 tissue blocks 78 $342 $641
Skin growth removal and lab exam, 1-5 blocks
A procedure to remove a growth from the trunk, arms, or legs and send 1 to 5 tissue samples to a laboratory for microscopic examination.
72 $436 $988
Complicated wound repair, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound measuring between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters on areas such as the face, neck, hands, or feet.
67 $240 $734
New patient office visit (45-59 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 45 and 59 minutes. This code covers the total time spent by the physician or qualified healthcare professional on the date of the encounter.
66 $110 $249
Shaving of skin growth on face, 0.6-1.0 cm
This procedure involves shaving off a skin growth located on the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth. The size of the growth being removed is between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters.
61 $89 $211
Office visit, established patient (10-19 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting 10 to 19 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
61 $43 $86
Skin substitute graft application, 25 sq cm or less
Application of a skin substitute graft to a wound on the face, scalp, eyelids, mouth, neck, ears, around eyes, genitals, hands, feet, fingers, or toes. The wound area covered is 25.0 square centimeters or less.
60 $89 $245
Complicated wound repair, scalp/arms/legs, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound on the scalp, arms, or legs that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters in length.
57 $258 $661
Shaving of skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
Removal of a skin growth by shaving the surface. The procedure is performed on the scalp, neck, hands, feet, or genitals and involves a lesion measuring between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters.
56 $96 $215
Light application with debridement to destroy precancerous skin growth
This procedure involves applying light to the skin along with debridement to destroy precancerous skin growths.
54 $219 $435
Skin growth electrical impedance test
A test using electrical impedance spectroscopy to evaluate one or more skin growths for the risk of melanoma.
49 $41 $288
Shaving of skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm
A minor procedure to shave off a skin growth measuring 0.6 to 1.0 cm from the scalp, neck, hands, feet, or genitals.
49 $75 $189
Steroid injection (triamcinolone)
A 10 mg injection of triamcinolone acetonide, a corticosteroid medication. This code specifies the drug and dosage administered.
45 $1 $2
Complicated wound repair of trunk, 2.6-7.5 cm
A surgical procedure to close a complex wound on the trunk that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters in length.
41 $292 $612
Skin substitute graft application, 25 sq cm or less
Application of a skin substitute graft to a wound on the trunk, arms, or legs covering 25 square centimeters or less.
39 $95 $237
Surgical removal of skin cancer, 1.1-2.0 cm
Surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth measuring between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters on the body, arms, or legs.
34 $99 $379
Skin graft repair, 10.1-30 sq cm
A surgical procedure to repair wounds on the forehead, cheeks, chin, mouth, neck, underarms, genitals, hands, or feet by transferring skin. The graft covers an area between 10.1 and 30.0 square centimeters.
34 $737 $1,435
Light therapy to destroy precancerous skin growth
This procedure uses light to treat and remove precancerous skin lesions. It is a method for destroying abnormal skin cells before they become cancerous.
33 $108 $209
Shaving of skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
Removal of a skin growth by shaving the surface of the skin. The procedure is performed on the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth and involves a lesion measuring between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters.
27 $108 $243
Ear tissue biopsy
A procedure to remove a small sample of tissue from the ear for laboratory examination.
26 $50 $150
Removal of noncancer skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
This procedure involves the surgical removal of a benign skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The growth measured between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters in diameter.
24 $82 $263
Intermediate radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the intermediate-level planning for radiation therapy treatment.
23 $86 $160
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
23 $98 $184
Radiation treatment planning, 2 areas
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for two distinct treatment areas.
22 $343 $641
Destruction of eyelid margin growth, 1.0 cm or less
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a growth located on the margin of the eyelid that measures 1.0 centimeter or smaller.
20 $165 $338
Skin graft for scalp, arm, or leg wound, 10.1-30 sq cm
This procedure involves repairing a wound on the scalp, arms, or legs by transferring skin from another area to cover the defect. The graft size is between 10.1 and 30.0 square centimeters.
18 $691 $1,346
Punch biopsy of first skin growth
A small, circular piece of skin is removed from a skin growth using a circular blade. The sample is then sent to a laboratory for examination.
17 $92 $194
Skin graft repair, 30.1-60.0 sq cm
A surgical procedure to repair a wound by transferring skin from one area to another. This code applies to grafts covering an area between 30.1 and 60.0 square centimeters.
16 $893 $1,692
Surgical removal of skin cancer, 2.1-3.0 cm
This procedure involves the surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The size of the removed tissue measures between 2.1 and 3.0 centimeters.
15 $157 $428
Shaving of skin growth, more than 2.0 cm
Removal of a skin growth by shaving the surface with a blade. This procedure is performed on the body, arms, or legs when the growth exceeds 2.0 centimeters.
14 $115 $234
Design and construction of intermediate radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of an intermediate radiation treatment device. It does not specify a particular clinical purpose or condition.
13 $108 $202
Eyelid biopsy
A procedure to remove a small sample of tissue from the eyelid for laboratory examination.
12 $147 $287
Complicated wound repair, each additional 5 cm or less
This code covers the additional work for a complex surgical repair of a wound on the scalp, arms, or legs when the repair extends beyond the initial measurement. It is billed for each incremental 5-centimeter segment added to the primary procedure.
11 $106 $199
Complex repair of eyelid, nose, ear, or lip wound, 2.6-7.5 cm
A surgical procedure to repair a complex wound on the eyelid, nose, ear, or lip that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters.
11 $264 $777
Skin graft repair, 10 sq cm or less
A surgical procedure to repair a wound by transferring a small piece of skin to the affected area. The graft covers wounds on the face, neck, hands, feet, or other specified body parts.
11 $632 $1,184
Skin graft repair of eyelid, nose, ear, or lip, 10.1-30 sq cm
This procedure involves repairing a wound on the eyelid, nose, ear, or lip by transferring skin from another area. The graft size covered is between 10.1 and 30.0 square centimeters.
11 $792 $1,545
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$7,824
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $1,118/year across 7 years
Top 35% in TX for dermatology
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
33
Companies
395
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$957
2023
$2,190
2022
$1,585
2021
$1,028
2020
$492
2019
$1,197
2018
$373

Payments by company (2024)

Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$279
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$173
ABBVIE INC.
$149
REVANCE THERAPEUTICS, INC.
$111
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$75
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$63
STRATA Skin Sciences, Inc.
$29
PFIZER INC.
$24
Dermavant Sciences, Inc.
$21
Amgen Inc.
$19
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$14
Top 3 companies account for 62.7% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$1,629
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$954
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$871
GENZYME CORPORATION
$792
AbbVie, Inc.
$530
ABBVIE INC.
$478
AbbVie Inc.
$425
NOVARTIS PHARMACEUTICALS CORPORATION
$302
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Inc.
$289
Merz North America, Inc.
$168
Boston Scientific Corporation
$131
STRATA Skin Sciences, Inc.
$128
Janssen Scientific Affairs, LLC
$125
Paratek Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$115
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$112
REVANCE THERAPEUTICS, INC.
$111
Genentech USA, Inc.
$99
PORTOLA PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.
$80
SANOFI-AVENTIS U.S. LLC
$72
Arcutis Biotherapeutics, Inc.
$66
Amgen Inc.
$47
Helsinn Therapeutics (U.S.), Inc.
$44
Dermavant Sciences, Inc.
$40
PFIZER INC.
$38
Almirall LLC
$38
LEO Pharma Inc.
$29
Incyte Corporation
$24
UCB, Inc.
$22
Allergan, Inc.
$18
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$14
Ortho Dermatologics, a division of Bausch Health US, LLC
$14
Avion Pharmaceuticals
$14
Journey Medical Corporation
$3
Top 3 companies account for 44.1% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
ADBRY · BEVYXXA · BLU-U · CIBINQO · COSENTYX · Cimzia · DAXXIFY · DUPIXENT · Dermatological Psoriasis and Vitiligo Treatment · EUCRISA · Erivedge · Exelderm · HUMIRA · Humira · LITHOVUE · NUZYRA · OPZELURA · Odomzo · Otezla · Prenate Mini · REMICADE · RINVOQ · SILIQ · SKYRIZI · Seysara · Skyrizi · Sotyktu · TREMFYA · VALCHLOR · VTAMA · XEOMIN · XTRAC · Xeomin
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a dermatology specialist in Houston?
Compare dermatologists in the Houston area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse dermatologists nearby

Geographic Context

Dermatologists in nearby ZIP areas
273
County median income
$73,104
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
MEMORIAL HERMANN HOSPITAL SYSTEM
0.0 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry ✓ NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment ✓ PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data ✓ Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments ✓ Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Desai is a mixed practice specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 3% in TX), with 19 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Desai experienced with ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Desai performed 2,548 ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Desai receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Desai received a total of $7,824 from 33 companies across 395 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Desai's costs compare to other dermatologists in Houston?
Dr. Desai's average Medicare payment per service is $148. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Desai) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →