Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Jon Ward, MD

Dermatology · Panama City, FL
Practice pattern: Mixed Practice — Diverse clinical practice across multiple procedure types
2505 HARRISON AVE, Panama City, FL 32405
8502333376
Registered in NPPES since 2006
NPI: 1720039829 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Ward from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Ward? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Ward

Dr. Jon Ward is a dermatology specialist in Panama City, FL, with 20 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Ward performed 17,424 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Ward received a total of $13,941 from 36 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 443 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Ward is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 20 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 5% volume in FL $13,941 industry payments

Florida License Status

FL DOH · MQA
1
Active license
None
Board action on record
0
Recent admin complaints
Profession License # Status Expires Board Action
Medical Doctor 95816 Clear January 31, 2028 —
Data from Florida Department of Health Medical Quality Assurance. License records are public under Chapter 119, Florida Statutes. Verify directly on FL DOH →

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
17,424
Medicare services
Top 5% in FL for dermatology
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$120
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Puraply xt, per square centimeter 5,675 $127 $401
Destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of two to fourteen precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to eliminate abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
2,383 $5 $13
Ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to help position radiation therapy fields accurately during treatment.
1,108 $136 $338
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
1,020 $205 $506
Superficial or low voltage radiation treatment
A radiation therapy procedure that delivers radiation to the surface of the body or uses low voltage energy. This treatment targets areas close to the skin.
978 $31 $77
Destruction of precancerous skin growth, 1
Removal of a single precancerous skin growth. This procedure destroys abnormal skin cells to prevent them from developing into cancer.
684 $37 $129
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
554 $65 $175
Office visit, established patient (10-19 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting 10 to 19 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
549 $41 $109
Skin growth removal and lab exam, 1-5 blocks
This procedure involves the removal of a growth from the head, neck, hands, feet, or genitals. The removed tissue is then examined under a microscope in the laboratory.
518 $517 $1,310
Skin growth removal and lab exam, 1-5 blocks
A procedure to remove a growth from the trunk, arms, or legs and send 1 to 5 tissue samples to a laboratory for microscopic examination.
376 $492 $1,228
Skin biopsy, tangential
A procedure to remove a sample of the first identified skin growth for laboratory examination.
375 $68 $195
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
319 $66 $163
Skin substitute graft application, 25 sq cm or less
Application of a skin substitute graft to a wound on the face, scalp, eyelids, mouth, neck, ears, around eyes, genitals, hands, feet, fingers, or toes. The wound area covered is 25.0 square centimeters or less.
265 $89 $308
Complicated wound repair, scalp/arms/legs, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound on the scalp, arms, or legs that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters in length.
257 $177 $825
Destruction of skin growths (warts/lesions), 1-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of one to fourteen skin growths. It is a minor surgical intervention performed on the skin surface.
221 $82 $163
Additional skin growth biopsy
Removal of a sample of an additional skin growth for laboratory examination. This code is used for each extra lesion biopsied during the same session.
196 $39 $97
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
186 $92 $248
Complicated wound repair, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound measuring between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters on areas such as the face, neck, hands, or feet.
183 $198 $918
Removal and microscopic exam of growth of head, neck, hands, feet, or genitals, each additional stage, 1-5 tissue blocks 172 $319 $792
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
162 $154 $376
Skin substitute graft application, 25 sq cm or less
Application of a skin substitute graft to a wound on the trunk, arms, or legs covering 25 square centimeters or less.
117 $92 $299
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 115 $52 $127
Complicated wound repair of trunk, 2.6-7.5 cm
A surgical procedure to close a complex wound on the trunk that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters in length.
110 $196 $770
Destruction of 15 or more precancerous skin growths
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of fifteen or more precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to treat abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
70 $127 $326
Complex wound repair, 1.1-2.5 cm
A surgical procedure to close a complex wound measuring between 1.1 and 2.5 centimeters on areas such as the face, neck, hands, or feet.
57 $157 $755
Destruction of cancerous skin growth on face, 0.6-1.0 cm
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin lesion located on the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth. The lesion treated measures between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters in diameter.
47 $132 $349
Additional Mohs surgery stage with microscopic exam
This procedure involves the removal and microscopic examination of an additional stage of tissue from the trunk, arms, or legs. It is performed in stages to ensure complete removal of the growth.
47 $303 $757
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
47 $30 $74
Simple radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the initial planning phase for radiation therapy treatment. It includes the setup and configuration required to prepare for delivering radiation to a specific area.
46 $57 $138
Chemical application to prevent wound tissue regrowth
A chemical agent is applied to a wound to inhibit the regrowth of tissue. This procedure focuses on the application of the substance to manage the wound bed.
45 $60 $168
Destruction of cancerous skin growth on face, 1.1-2.0 cm
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin lesion located on the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth. The lesion treated measures between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters in diameter.
41 $144 $399
Destruction of cancer skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin growth measuring 0.6 to 1.0 centimeters. It is performed on the scalp, neck, hands, feet, or genitals.
38 $111 $323
New patient office visit (30-44 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 30 and 44 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter falls within this range.
36 $74 $217
Destruction of cancer skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
Removal of a cancerous skin growth on the trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters.
34 $108 $346
New patient office visit, 15-29 minutes
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting 15 to 29 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter meets this duration threshold.
30 $48 $140
Destruction of cancer skin growth of scalp, neck, hands, feet, or genitals, 1.1-2.0 cm 28 $127 $365
Ear tissue biopsy
A procedure to remove a small sample of tissue from the ear for laboratory examination.
28 $54 $187
Intermediate wound repair, 2.6-7.5 cm
A medical procedure to close a wound on the scalp, underarms, trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters. This type of repair involves cleaning the wound and stitching it closed to promote healing.
26 $157 $587
Topical aminolevulinic acid HCl 20% solution
A topical medication applied to the skin for medical treatment. It is supplied as a single-unit dosage form containing 354 mg of the active ingredient.
24 $294 $847
Complicated wound repair, scalp/arms/legs, 1.1-2.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound on the scalp, arms, or legs that measures between 1.1 and 2.5 centimeters.
22 $154 $691
Light therapy to destroy precancerous skin growth
A qualified healthcare professional applies light to the skin to destroy precancerous growths.
21 $176 $431
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
20 $97 $238
Skin cancer growth removal, 0.6-1.0 cm
This procedure involves the surgical removal of a cancerous skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The size of the growth being removed is between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters.
19 $95 $443
Surgical removal of skin cancer, 1.1-2.0 cm
Surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth measuring between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters on the body, arms, or legs.
19 $107 $474
Destruction of cancer skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin growth located on the trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters.
19 $80 $285
Intermediate radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the intermediate-level planning for radiation therapy treatment.
16 $87 $212
Radiation treatment planning, 2 areas
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for two distinct treatment areas.
16 $338 $827
Design and construction of intermediate radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of an intermediate radiation treatment device. It does not specify a particular clinical purpose or condition.
16 $107 $261
Skin graft repair of eyelid, nose, ear, or lip, 10 sq cm or less
A surgical procedure to repair a wound on the eyelid, nose, ear, or lip by transferring a small piece of skin. The transferred skin covers an area of 10 square centimeters or less.
15 $610 $1,502
Steroid injection (triamcinolone)
A 10 mg injection of triamcinolone acetonide, a corticosteroid medication. This code specifies the drug and dosage administered.
15 $1 $24
New patient office visit (45-59 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 45 and 59 minutes. This code covers the total time spent by the physician or qualified healthcare professional on the date of the encounter.
14 $114 $325
Intermediate repair of wound of face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth, 2.6-5.0 cm 12 $136 $614
Skin tag removal, 1-15 tags
This procedure involves the removal of one to fifteen skin tags. It is a minor surgical intervention to excise these benign growths from the skin.
11 $49 $177
Removal of noncancer skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
This procedure involves the surgical removal of a benign skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The growth measured between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters in diameter.
11 $74 $333
Injection into skin growths, 1-7
A procedure involving the injection of medication into one to seven skin growths.
11 $29 $110
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.
0.3% high complexity
25.8% medium
74.0% routine

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$13,941
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $1,992/year across 7 years
Top 13% in FL for dermatology
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
36
Companies
443
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$2,894
2023
$5,390
2022
$1,407
2021
$1,602
2020
$863
2019
$1,156
2018
$627

Payments by company (2024)

Organogenesis Inc.
$994
ABBVIE INC.
$991
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$301
GENZYME CORPORATION
$182
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$90
Lilly USA, LLC
$81
UCB, Inc.
$54
ConvaTec Inc.
$45
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$45
Amgen Inc.
$42
Kerecis Limited
$31
Boston Scientific Corporation
$24
Genentech USA, Inc.
$15
Top 3 companies account for 79.0% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
AbbVie Inc.
$4,617
Organogenesis Inc.
$1,844
ABBVIE INC.
$1,249
Lilly USA, LLC
$742
Allergan, Inc.
$664
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Inc.
$611
GENZYME CORPORATION
$603
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$475
AbbVie, Inc.
$413
Amgen Inc.
$355
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$347
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$322
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$269
UCB, Inc.
$258
Genentech USA, Inc.
$150
SANOFI-AVENTIS U.S. LLC
$131
PFIZER INC.
$131
ORGANOGENESIS INC.
$114
DUSA Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$61
LEO Pharma Inc.
$54
Incyte Corporation
$50
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC
$46
ConvaTec Inc.
$45
AngioDynamics, Inc.
$44
Arcutis Biotherapeutics, Inc.
$43
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$41
STRATA Skin Sciences, Inc.
$37
Celgene Corporation
$37
TRIAD LIFE SCIENCES INC.
$31
Kerecis Limited
$31
Allergan Inc.
$28
DERMIRA, INC.
$26
Biofrontera Inc.
$25
Boston Scientific Corporation
$24
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$13
Mayne Pharma Inc.
$12
Top 3 companies account for 55.3% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
ABSORICA LD · ADBRY · APLIGRAF · Ameluz · BLU-U · BLU-U Blue Light Photodynamic Therapy Illuminator Model 4170 · BOTOX · BOTOX COSMETIC · Bimzelx · COSENTYX · Cimzia · DERMATITIS - DISEASE · DORYX · DUPIXENT · DUPIXENT DUPILUMAB INJECTION · Dermatological Psoriasis and Vitiligo Treatment · EBGLYSS · ENSTILAR · EUCRISA · Erivedge · HUMIRA · Humira · IDACIO · ILUMYA · ILUMYA (tildrakizumab-asmn) injection · INNOVAMATRIX AC · Ilumya · Kerecis Omega3 SurgiClose · LEVULAN KERASTICK · LIBTAYO · OPZELURA · Otezla · PURAPLY AM · PURAPLY FRANCHISE · Puraply · Puraply Antimicrobial · QBREXZA · REMICADE · RINVOQ · SKYRIZI · Sotyktu · TALTZ · TREMFYA · Tremfya · WATCHMAN FLX · XTRAC
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a dermatology specialist in Panama City?
Compare dermatologists in the Panama City area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse dermatologists nearby

Geographic Context

Dermatologists in nearby ZIP areas
7
County median income
$70,188
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
HCA FLORIDA GULF COAST HOSPITAL
0.0 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry ✓ NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment ✓ PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data ✓ Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments ✓ Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Ward is a mixed practice specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 5% in FL), with 20 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Ward experienced with puraply xt, per square centimeter?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Ward performed 5,675 puraply xt, per square centimeter services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Ward receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Ward received a total of $13,941 from 36 companies across 443 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Ward's costs compare to other dermatologists in Panama City?
Dr. Ward's average Medicare payment per service is $120. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Ward) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →