Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Reza Shirazi, M.D.

Optician · San Diego, CA
Practice pattern: Mixed Practice — Diverse clinical practice across multiple procedure types
3366 5TH AVE, San Diego, CA 92103
6192300400
Registered in NPPES since 2006
NPI: 1336175272 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Shirazi from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Shirazi? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Shirazi

Dr. Reza Shirazi is an optician specialist in San Diego, CA, with 20 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Shirazi performed 2,755 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Shirazi received a total of $5,506 from 34 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 104 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Shirazi is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 20 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 30% volume in CA $5,506 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
2,755
Medicare services
Top 30% in CA for optician
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$226
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 399 $58 $330
Intensity-modulated radiation therapy delivery
Delivery of radiation therapy using narrow beams that are spatially and temporally modulated to target specific areas. This process is performed per treatment session.
356 $333 $1,955
CT guidance for radiation therapy
This procedure uses computed tomography imaging to guide the precise placement of radiation therapy fields. It ensures accurate positioning for targeted treatment delivery.
355 $109 $620
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
219 $110 $623
Telephone medical discussion, 11-20 minutes
A phone conversation with a physician lasting between 11 and 20 minutes.
197 $65 $439
Implantable tissue marker, each
A small marker is implanted into tissue to serve as a reference point for future medical imaging or procedures.
155 $34 $250
Radiation therapy, 3+ areas, 6-10 MeV
Radiation treatment delivered to three or more separate areas using advanced techniques like custom blocking and rotational beams with an energy level of 6-10 MeV.
145 $219 $1,275
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
120 $161 $875
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
97 $249 $1,435
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
96 $79 $460
Stereotactic radiosurgery, 2nd through 5th session
Image-guided robotic radiation therapy delivery for the second through fifth sessions of a fractionated treatment course. This code covers up to five sessions per course of treatment.
74 $1,861 $9,495
Complex radiation therapy planning 61 $140 $765
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
48 $70 $441
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
45 $33 $190
New patient office visit, complex (60-74 min) 44 $182 $1,020
Radiation treatment planning, complex
This procedure involves obtaining the necessary data to develop an optimal radiation treatment plan for three or more treatment areas, or any number of areas requiring special treatment.
39 $416 $2,390
Special medical radiation therapy consultation
A consultation with a radiation oncologist to discuss treatment options and plan for medical radiation therapy.
33 $124 $740
3D radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves creating a three-dimensional treatment plan for radiation therapy. It uses imaging data to map the target area and surrounding tissues to guide precise radiation delivery.
32 $426 $2,405
Telephone medical discussion, 21-30 minutes
A telephone conversation with a physician lasting between 21 and 30 minutes. This code covers the time spent discussing medical matters over the phone.
32 $105 $600
Prostate radiation therapy device placement
A device is placed in the prostate to facilitate radiation therapy. This procedure involves positioning the device to aid in the delivery of radiation treatment.
31 $79 $735
Transrectal ultrasound of the pelvis
An ultrasound imaging procedure where a probe is inserted into the rectum to visualize pelvic structures.
31 $125 $730
Injection of biodegradable material next to prostate
A procedure involving the injection of a biodegradable substance into the tissue surrounding the prostate gland.
25 $2,696 $16,599
Office visit, established patient, complex (40-54 min)
An office or outpatient visit for an existing patient lasting between 40 and 54 minutes. This level of service is determined by the total time spent on the date of the encounter.
24 $148 $840
Fractionated radiation therapy for cranial lesion
Treatment using radiation delivered in multiple sessions to manage a lesion in the head.
22 $537 $2,900
Design and construction of radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a device used for high precision radiation therapy. It does not include the actual administration of radiation treatment.
17 $413 $2,325
Special radiation treatment 17 $120 $665
New patient office visit (45-59 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 45 and 59 minutes. This code covers the total time spent by the physician or qualified healthcare professional on the date of the encounter.
15 $141 $780
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
15 $107 $600
High precision radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the detailed planning and setup required for delivering high-precision radiation therapy to a target area of the body.
11 $1,660 $9,595
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.
2.7% high complexity
78.1% medium
19.2% routine

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$5,506
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $787/year across 7 years
Top 22% in CA for optician
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
34
Companies
104
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$468
2023
$2,302
2022
$646
2021
$386
2020
$371
2019
$499
2018
$833

Payments by company (2024)

Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$163
PROGENICS PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.
$120
Teleflex LLC
$62
Sumitomo Pharma America, Inc.
$48
Telix Pharmaceuticals
$27
Myriad Genetic Laboratories, Inc.
$24
Boston Scientific Corporation
$24
Top 3 companies account for 73.9% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$1,660
Myovant Sciences Inc.
$383
Blue Earth Diagnostics Limited
$261
Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$241
INSYS Therapeutics Inc
$211
Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc.
$194
Novocure Inc.
$139
Myriad Genetic Laboratories, Inc.
$136
AbbVie, Inc.
$134
Ferring Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$133
Foundation Medicine, Inc.
$132
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC
$125
Janssen Pharmaceuticals, Inc
$125
Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$124
Merck Sharp & Dohme Corporation
$123
Mallinckrodt Enterprises LLC
$121
PROGENICS PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.
$120
GENZYME CORPORATION
$118
Boston Scientific Corporation
$115
Profound Medical Corp.
$112
Pfizer Inc.
$111
AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP
$102
Avadel Specialty Pharmaceuticals, LLC
$101
Varian Medical Systems, Inc.
$78
Palette Life Sciences, Inc.
$64
Teleflex LLC
$62
Telix Pharmaceuticals
$49
Sumitomo Pharma America, Inc.
$48
PALETTE LIFE SCIENCES, INC.
$43
BOSTON SCIENTIFIC CORPORATION
$39
West Therapeutics Development, LLC
$31
Elekta, Inc.
$29
AngioDynamics, Inc.
$21
PFIZER INC.
$20
Top 3 companies account for 41.8% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
Axumin · ELEKTA MEDICAL LINEAR ACCELERATOR · ERLEADA · Edge · FIRMAGON · FOUNDATIONONE CDX · ILLUCCIX · JEVTANA · KEYTRUDA · LYNPARZA · Lazanda · Lupron · Lupron Depot · Noctiva · OFIRMEV · ORGOVYX · Oncology · POSLUMA · PROLARIS · PYLARIFY · Prolaris · REZUM · Rezum Generator · SYNDROS · SpaceOAR System · TAGRISSO · TrueBeam · Tulsa-Pro · UROLIFT · XARELTO · XTANDI · Xofigo
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for an optician specialist in San Diego?
Compare opticians in the San Diego area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse opticians nearby

Geographic Context

Opticians in nearby ZIP areas
430
County median income
$102,285
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
UC SAN DIEGO HEALTH HILLCREST - HILLCREST MED CTR
0.0 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry ✓ NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment ✓ PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data ✓ Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments ✓ Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Shirazi is a mixed practice specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 30% in CA), with 20 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Shirazi experienced with calculation of radiation therapy dose?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Shirazi performed 399 calculation of radiation therapy dose services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Shirazi receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Shirazi received a total of $5,506 from 34 companies across 104 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Shirazi's costs compare to other opticians in San Diego?
Dr. Shirazi's average Medicare payment per service is $226. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Shirazi) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →