Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Michael Messina, MD

Dermatology · Palm Desert, CA
Practice pattern: Clinical Cardiology — Primarily office-based clinical cardiology
44311 MONTEREY AVE, Palm Desert, CA 92260
7607736616
Registered in NPPES since 2007
NPI: 1609073048 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Messina from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Messina? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Messina

Dr. Michael Messina is a dermatology specialist in Palm Desert, CA, with 19 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Messina performed 17,692 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Messina received a total of $64,114 from 26 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 163 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Messina is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 19 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 3% volume in CA $64,114 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
17,692
Medicare services
Top 3% in CA for dermatology
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$87
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of two to fourteen precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to eliminate abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
4,576 $5 $11
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
2,074 $69 $136
Ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to help position radiation therapy fields accurately during treatment.
1,777 $156 $458
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
1,701 $234 $689
Superficial or low voltage radiation treatment
A radiation therapy procedure that delivers radiation to the surface of the body or uses low voltage energy. This treatment targets areas close to the skin.
1,628 $36 $105
Destruction of precancerous skin growth, 1
Removal of a single precancerous skin growth. This procedure destroys abnormal skin cells to prevent them from developing into cancer.
1,424 $38 $102
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
1,117 $97 $192
Destruction of skin growths (warts/lesions), 1-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of one to fourteen skin growths. It is a minor surgical intervention performed on the skin surface.
908 $87 $175
Skin biopsy, tangential
A procedure to remove a sample of the first identified skin growth for laboratory examination.
484 $65 $158
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
326 $160 $483
Steroid injection (triamcinolone)
A 10 mg injection of triamcinolone acetonide, a corticosteroid medication. This code specifies the drug and dosage administered.
272 $1 $13
Skin growth removal and lab exam, 1-5 blocks
This procedure involves the removal of a growth from the head, neck, hands, feet, or genitals. The removed tissue is then examined under a microscope in the laboratory.
172 $568 $993
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
133 $75 $210
Skin growth removal and lab exam, 1-5 blocks
A procedure to remove a growth from the trunk, arms, or legs and send 1 to 5 tissue samples to a laboratory for microscopic examination.
129 $537 $932
Destruction of 15 or more precancerous skin growths
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of fifteen or more precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to treat abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
111 $139 $258
Removal and microscopic exam of growth of head, neck, hands, feet, or genitals, each additional stage, 1-5 tissue blocks 100 $355 $606
Destruction of skin growth, 15 or more growths 87 $96 $204
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 77 $57 $165
New patient office visit (30-44 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 30 and 44 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter falls within this range.
74 $83 $169
Additional skin growth biopsy
Removal of a sample of an additional skin growth for laboratory examination. This code is used for each extra lesion biopsied during the same session.
72 $38 $79
Additional Mohs surgery stage with microscopic exam
This procedure involves the removal and microscopic examination of an additional stage of tissue from the trunk, arms, or legs. It is performed in stages to ensure complete removal of the growth.
70 $341 $585
Simple radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the initial planning phase for radiation therapy treatment. It includes the setup and configuration required to prepare for delivering radiation to a specific area.
67 $56 $194
New patient office visit (45-59 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 45 and 59 minutes. This code covers the total time spent by the physician or qualified healthcare professional on the date of the encounter.
53 $111 $250
Injection into skin growths, 1-7
A procedure involving the injection of medication into one to seven skin growths.
47 $35 $85
Simple drainage of skin abscess
A minor procedure to drain a localized collection of pus from the skin. The abscess is opened to allow the fluid to escape and promote healing.
42 $107 $191
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
36 $33 $98
Complicated wound repair of trunk, 2.6-7.5 cm
A surgical procedure to close a complex wound on the trunk that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters in length.
25 $146 $597
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
25 $107 $315
Drug injection, under skin or into muscle
A procedure involving the administration of a medication or substance via injection into the subcutaneous tissue or muscle.
21 $11 $22
Design and construction of intermediate radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of an intermediate radiation treatment device. It does not specify a particular clinical purpose or condition.
19 $119 $355
Complicated wound repair, scalp/arms/legs, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound on the scalp, arms, or legs that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters in length.
18 $168 $635
Surgical removal of skin cancer, 3.1-4.0 cm
This procedure involves the surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The size of the removed tissue is between 3.1 and 4.0 centimeters.
14 $89 $458
Surgical removal of large skin cancer growth
Surgical excision of a malignant skin lesion located on the body, arms, or legs that measures more than 4.0 centimeters in diameter.
13 $256 $661
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.
0.4% high complexity
37.8% medium
61.8% routine

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$64,114
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $9,159/year across 7 years
Top 6% in CA for dermatology
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
26
Companies
163
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$382
2023
$327
2022
$4,713
2021
$5,003
2020
$10,399
2019
$19,085
2018
$24,206

Payments by company (2024)

REVANCE THERAPEUTICS, INC.
$210
MIMEDX Group, Inc.
$94
GENZYME CORPORATION
$50
MERZ NORTH AMERICA, INC.
$28
Top 3 companies account for 92.6% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Celgene Corporation
$42,119
Amgen Inc.
$19,456
LEO Pharma Inc.
$333
PFIZER INC.
$321
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$297
REVANCE THERAPEUTICS, INC.
$210
Innovation Technologies Inc
$188
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$157
GENZYME CORPORATION
$138
Sientra, Inc.
$97
MIMEDX Group, Inc.
$94
Allergan Inc.
$83
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$80
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$74
AbbVie Inc.
$68
AbbVie, Inc.
$63
Merz North America, Inc.
$61
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Inc.
$58
Mentor Worldwide LLC
$52
Ortho Dermatologics, a division of Bausch Health US, LLC
$35
UCB, Inc.
$33
MERZ NORTH AMERICA, INC.
$28
ABBVIE INC.
$24
Dermavant Sciences, Inc.
$21
Taro Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.
$15
Integra LifeSciences Corporation
$12
Top 3 companies account for 96.6% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
0.25% · ADBRY · CIBINQO · COSENTYX · Cimzia · DAXXIFY · DERMATITIS - DISEASE · DUPIXENT · ENSTILAR · EUCRISA · HUMIRA · Humira · ILUMYA · INTEGRA MESHED BILAYER WOUND MATRIX · IRRISEPT · Irrisept · MemoryGel Breast Implants · NATRELLE · Otezla · PICATO · REMICADE · SIENTRA HIGH STRENGTH COHESIVE SILICONE GEL BREAST IMPLANT · SILIQ · SKYRIZI · Skyrizi · TOPICORT (desoximetasone) Topical Spray · VTAMA · Winlevi · Xeomin
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a dermatology specialist in Palm Desert?
Compare dermatologists in the Palm Desert area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse dermatologists nearby

Geographic Context

Dermatologists in nearby ZIP areas
14
County median income
$89,672
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
EISENHOWER MEDICAL CENTER
4.8 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry ✓ NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment ✓ PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data ✓ Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments ✓ Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Messina is a clinical cardiology specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 3% in CA), with 19 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Messina experienced with destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Messina performed 4,576 destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14 services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Messina receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Messina received a total of $64,114 from 26 companies across 163 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Messina's costs compare to other dermatologists in Palm Desert?
Dr. Messina's average Medicare payment per service is $87. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Messina) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →