Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Albert Chang, MD PHD

Radiology - Diagnostic · Los Angeles, CA
Practice pattern: Mixed Practice — Diverse clinical practice across multiple procedure types
200 MEDICAL PLAZA, Los Angeles, CA 90024
3108250128
Registered in NPPES since 2008
NPI: 1104089267 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Chang from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Chang? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Chang

Dr. Albert Chang is a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Los Angeles, CA, with 18 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Chang performed 2,301 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Chang received a total of $220,431 from 30 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 381 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Chang is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 18 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 36% volume in CA $220,431 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
2,301
Medicare services
Top 36% in CA for radiology - diagnostic
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$111
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
261 $52 $298
3D radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves creating a three-dimensional treatment plan for radiation therapy. It uses imaging data to map the target area and surrounding tissues to guide precise radiation delivery.
143 $196 $1,093
Complex radiation therapy planning 137 $146 $870
Special radiation treatment 135 $93 $568
High dose radiation therapy, more than 12 channels
A radiation treatment using a high dose delivered through more than 12 separate channels or beams.
135 $245 $1,379
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
133 $51 $508
Transrectal ultrasound of the pelvis
An ultrasound imaging procedure where a probe is inserted into the rectum to visualize pelvic structures.
132 $28 $240
Radiation treatment planning, complex
This procedure involves obtaining the necessary data to develop an optimal radiation treatment plan for three or more treatment areas, or any number of areas requiring special treatment.
129 $72 $426
Colonoscopy
A procedure to examine the rectum and lower large bowel using a flexible tube with a camera.
124 $24 $613
CT guidance for radiation therapy
This procedure uses computed tomography imaging to guide the precise placement of radiation therapy fields. It ensures accurate positioning for targeted treatment delivery.
103 $39 $315
Ultrasound guidance for needle placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to guide the precise placement of a needle during a medical procedure.
102 $26 $194
New patient office visit, complex (60-74 min) 94 $151 $1,360
Prostate radiation therapy device placement
A device is placed in the prostate to facilitate radiation therapy. This procedure involves positioning the device to aid in the delivery of radiation treatment.
90 $47 $656
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 90 $29 $148
Injection of biodegradable material next to prostate
A procedure involving the injection of a biodegradable substance into the tissue surrounding the prostate gland.
85 $106 $19,486
High dose radiation therapy, 2-12 channels
A radiation treatment using 2 to 12 distinct beams or channels to deliver a high dose of radiation to a target area.
80 $173 $971
Prostate radiation therapy needle insertion
A needle or tube is inserted into the prostate to deliver radiation therapy.
58 $673 $5,080
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
50 $33 $310
Ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy
Use of ultrasound imaging to guide the administration of radiation therapy.
36 $58 $307
High precision radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the detailed planning and setup required for delivering high-precision radiation therapy to a target area of the body.
30 $368 $1,991
Design and construction of radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a device used for high precision radiation therapy. It does not include the actual administration of radiation treatment.
29 $197 $1,118
High dose radiation therapy, 1 channel
Administration of high-dose radiation therapy using a single channel. This procedure involves delivering targeted radiation to treat a specific area.
24 $90 $499
Telephone medical discussion, 11-20 minutes
A phone conversation with a physician lasting between 11 and 20 minutes.
20 $54 $443
Telephone medical discussion, 21-30 minutes
A telephone conversation with a physician lasting between 21 and 30 minutes. This code covers the time spent discussing medical matters over the phone.
16 $83 $346
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
15 $21 $118
Fractionated radiation therapy for cranial lesion
Treatment using radiation delivered in multiple sessions to manage a lesion in the head.
14 $558 $3,287
Transrectal ultrasound of prostate
An ultrasound imaging procedure where a probe is inserted into the rectum to create pictures of the prostate gland.
13 $66 $564
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
12 $84 $858
Prostate gland biopsy
A procedure to remove small samples of tissue from the prostate gland for laboratory examination.
11 $100 $1,690
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$220,431
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $31,490/year across 7 years
Top 1% in CA for radiology - diagnostic
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
30
Companies
381
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$58,804
2023
$94,290
2022
$15,839
2021
$15,197
2020
$22,200
2019
$5,272
2018
$8,829

Payments by company (2024)

Boston Scientific Corporation
$33,992
Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc.
$13,696
Stryker Corporation
$7,685
BIOPROTECT MEDICAL, INC.
$2,506
Janssen Scientific Affairs, LLC
$340
Sumitomo Pharma America, Inc.
$206
Teleflex LLC
$185
Becton, Dickinson and Company
$138
Elekta, Inc.
$56
Top 3 companies account for 94.2% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Boston Scientific Corporation
$65,216
PALETTE LIFE SCIENCES, INC.
$32,131
Sumitomo Pharma America, Inc.
$31,240
Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc.
$31,081
BOSTON SCIENTIFIC CORPORATION
$11,961
Stryker Corporation
$11,230
Myovant Sciences Inc.
$10,043
Augmenix, Inc.
$8,611
Elekta, Inc.
$6,086
BIOPROTECT MEDICAL, INC.
$2,506
Varian Medical Systems, Inc.
$2,120
GT Medical Technologies, Inc
$1,946
Astellas Pharma Global Development
$1,458
Brainlab, Inc.
$1,111
Janssen Scientific Affairs, LLC
$1,008
VIEWRAY TECHNOLOGIES INC
$800
Theragenics Corporation
$464
Palette Life Sciences, Inc.
$296
Becton, Dickinson and Company
$250
Teleflex LLC
$185
ARGON MEDICAL DEVICES, INC.
$140
Intuitive Surgical, Inc.
$100
AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP
$95
KARL STORZ Endoscopy-America
$89
IsoRay, Inc
$86
TESARO, Inc.
$61
Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc.
$39
SonaCare Medical, LLC
$31
NeoTract Inc.
$25
PORTOLA PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.
$23
Top 3 companies account for 58.3% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
AERO-LL · AIRO · ANDEXXA · BIOPROTECT BALLOON IMPLANT SYSTEM · BrachyVision · Brachytherapy Source · Bravos Afterloader System · C-VIEW · CLEANER · Curve · DEFLUX · Da Vinci Surgical System · ELEKTA MEDICAL LINEAR ACCELERATOR · ERLEADA · EVEREST SPINAL SYSTEM · Esteya · FLEXITRON HDR · GAMMATILE · GENERAL BPH · GENERAL BPH · GENERAL THERAPIES · GENERAL - BPH · GENERAL - THERAPIES · GENERAL IO ABLATION · General - Embolics · General - Ultrasound · ICEFX · MRIdian · MYFEMBREE · Model 200 TheraSeed Palladium-103 in ReadyLink · N/A · ORGOVYX · REZUM · RYBREVANT · SPACEOAR · SPACEOAR VUE · SonaBlate · SpaceOAR · SpaceOAR System · SpaceOAR VUE System - 10mL · UNIVERSAL NEURO 3 · UroLift · Xtandi · ZEJULA
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Los Angeles?
Compare radiology - diagnostics in the Los Angeles area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse radiology - diagnostics nearby

Geographic Context

Radiology - diagnostics in nearby ZIP areas
143
County median income
$87,760
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
RONALD REAGAN UCLA MEDICAL CENTER
0.6 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry ✓ NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment ✓ PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data ✓ Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments ✓ Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Chang is a mixed practice specialist, with moderate Medicare volume, with 18 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Chang experienced with design and construction of complex radiation treatment device?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Chang performed 261 design and construction of complex radiation treatment device services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Chang receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Chang received a total of $220,431 from 30 companies across 381 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Chang's costs compare to other radiology - diagnostics in Los Angeles?
Dr. Chang's average Medicare payment per service is $111. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Chang) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →